Igor Ustinov

His Life

Igor Ustinov, sculptor and trained opera singer, was born in London, the son of Sir Peter Ustinov and the Canadian actress Suzanne Cloutier, Igor enjoyed an international education. He studied art at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts in Paris, graduated in biology from the Paris VII and studied singing at the Paris Conservatory. Despite the "Ustinovian" versatility of interests, the focus of his work is in the field of sculpture. One of his teachers was none other than César Baldaccini - one of the most renowned French sculptors and an important representative of the "Nouveau Realisme". Igor Ustinov is co-founder of the Peter Ustinov Foundation which has been under his leadership since 2004.

But not only as an artist, Igor Ustinov also made a name for himself as an inventor. At the 45th International Inventions Fair in Geneva, he was awarded the "Prize of the International Federation of Inventors Associations (IFIA)" for the "Best Invention" for the "Ustinov Construction System" which helps combat the global housing crisis, as well as the pollution caused by plastic waste through the recycling of used PET.

His Work

His Work

"It is metal that perpetuates the human presence," says Igor Ustinov, who works with bronze. The bulk of his work shows the movement of life. Especially associations with dance, since many famous Ustinov family members designed sets and costumes for the ballet and the opera, like his grandmother Nadia Benois. Igor Ustinov models elegant, oversized bronze sculptures, often striving upwards, freezing a special moment in life. His sculptures usually have no face, the heads are highly abstracted and reminiscent of the number "1". There is a trans-personal and supratemporal reality in his work. The material of bronze underlines the energy of the movement and sets accents of light and shadow. "I want to capture time in a work of art", says Igor Ustinov.

 

Humanitarian Committment

Humanitarian Committment

In addition to the inevitable artistic ambitions of the Ustinovs, Igor Ustinov is socially engaged and, above all, continues his father's humanitarian legacy. To this end, together with his father in 1999, he founded the Peter Ustinov Foundation of which he is chairman. He is an active member of the advisory board of the Ustinov Institute in Vienna. The Ustinov Prejudice Awareness Forum was created under his direction and patronage, which serves as an exchange platform and promotes social diversity and cosmopolitanism. Public figures can be found here, together with members of the Vienna Ustinov Institute and the Ustinov College in Durham, UK. Igor Ustinov is also involved in other foundations as a board member, e.g. in the Foundation "Winds of Hope", Lausanne, Switzerland. and the Carène Foundation, Zermatt, Switzerland which promotes education and the preservation of tradition.

In dialogue with Igor

Igor Ustinov

Igor Ustinov ist Bildhauer und ausgebildeter Opernsänger. In London als Sohn von Sir Peter Ustinov und der kanadischen Schauspielerin Suzanne Cloutier geboren, studierte er Kunst an der École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts in Paris, schloss ein Studium der Biologie an der Paris VII ab und studierte zusätzlich Gesang am Pariser Konservatorium. Trotz der „Ustinovschen“ Vielseitigkeit der Interessen liegt der Fokus seines Schaffens im Bereich der Bildhauerei. Einer seiner Lehrer war César Baldaccini, genannt César – einer der berühmtesten französischen Bildhauer und Vertreter des „Nouveau Realisme“. Igor Ustinov ist Mitgründer der Peter Ustinov Stiftung, die seit 2004 unter seiner Leitung als Vorstandsvorsitzender steht. 

Doch nicht nur als Künstler, sondern auch als Erfinder hat sich Igor Ustinov zwioschenzeitlich einen Namen gemacht. Bei der 45. Internationalen Messe für Erfindungen in Genf der „Prize of the international Federation of Inventor’s Associations (IFIA)“ für die „beste Erfindung“ verliehen worden für das „Ustinov Construction System“.   

Seine Werke

Seine Werke

„Es ist das Metall, das des Menschen Präsenz verewigt“, sagt Igor Ustinov, der mit Bronze arbeitet. Das Gros seiner Werke zeigt die Bewegtheit des Lebens. Hier sind Assoziationen an den Tanz und die vielen berühmten Familienmitglieder, die Bühnenbilder und Kostüme für das Ballett und die Oper gestaltet haben, so auch seine Großmutter Nadia Benois, durchaus gewollt. Igor Ustinov modelliert elegante, überlängte Bronzeskulpturen, die oft nach oben streben, gestgehalten in bedeutenden Momenten des Lebens. Seine Figuren haben meist kein Gesicht, die Köpfe sind stark abstrahiert und erinnern an die Ziffer „1“. Dies zeigt nicht zuletzt, dass hier eine überpersönliche und überzeitliche Realität das Thema ist. Das Material Bronze unterstreicht die dargestellte Energie der Bewegung und setzt Akzente von Licht und Schatten. „Ich will die Zeit in einem Kunstwerk einfangen“, sagt Igor Ustinov.

 

Humanitäres Engagement

Humanitäres Engagement

Neben den für die Ustinovs unvermeidlich künstlerischen Ambitionen ist Igor Ustinov gesellschaftlich engagiert und führt vor allem das humanitäre Erbe seines Vaters fort. Zu diesem Zweck gründete er zusammen mit seinem Vater im Jahr 1999 die Peter Ustinov Stiftung, deren Vorsitzender er ist. Darüber hinaus ist er aktives Beiratsmitglied des Ustinov Instituts zur Erforschung von Vorurteilen in Wien. Vorurteile als Hauptgrund für Konflikte ist ein Familienthema der Ustinovs, für das sich auch Igor Ustinov beherzt einsetzt. Das „Ustinov Prejudice Awareness Forum“ entstand unter seiner Leitung und Schirmherrschaft.  Es dient als Plattform zum Austausch rund um das Thema Vorurteile und fördert gesellschaftliche Vielfalt und Weltoffenheit. Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Lebens sind hier ebenso zu finden wie Mitglieder des Wiener Ustinov Instituts und des Ustinov Colleges in Durham, Großbritannien. Außerdem engagiert sich Igor Ustinov auch in anderen Stiftungen als Stiftungsrat, u.a. in der Stiftung „Winds of Hope“, Lausanne, Schweiz (Stiftung zur Bekämpfung der Krankheit Noma in Afrika) sowie der Stiftung Carène, Zermatt, Schweiz, einer Stiftung zur Förderung von Bildung und Traditionserhalt.

Igor im Gespräch